Sam Adams Noble Pilsner

Given a choice, I will most often tend toward dark ales and stouts. But today was a beautiful day, for a change. The sun was out and the air was crisp. That, and the brisk walk to the Flying Saucer had me in the mood for something bright and fresh. The thing that tipped me over to the light side was Kevin’s announcement that he had been in a lager kind of mood lately. I ordered the Sam Adams Noble Pilsner, he had the Spaten Lager.

I know Kevin from Hallmark, where he is a senior writer. He also happens to be a Star Trek author, and the man behind Kevin Dilmore’s Pop Culture Mayhem (which you should definitely join if you care to be on top of pop culture and all that). But his proudest achievement is being a dad, and a pretty rad one at that. To this rather impressive list I would add that he is also a great friend who has a kind ear, a good heart and an award-winning laugh.

You know what else is award-winning? The Noble Pilsner. The golden brew, got the 2009 Beer Lovers Choice Award. It is modeled after the original Czech Pilsner, and uses the 5 remaining Noble Hops (Czech Saaz, Hallertau, Mittelfruh, Tettnang and Spalt). I’m not sure what all that means, I just copied it from the website. But I can honestly say that was one tasty pilsner, well-balanced with a slightly sweet body and dry finish. Okay, I copied that last bit too, but only because I agree.

Of course, as with any beer I’ve ever had, the best thing is sharing the moment with someone, having a laugh, telling stories and making memories.  And that, my friends, is why I’m thinking this birthmonth project may be the best idea I ever had.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sam Adams Noble Pilsner

  1. Trish says:

    Can I just declare a month-long “like” on this?

Leave a Reply

