Bourbon County Stout

There’s just something about an ale that is so substantial, so hearty and so full of flavor that even the brightest light can’t cut through it. In Ireland, they consider their stout a drink and a meal. The stout is, and may always be, my favorite style to drink. It is a stout that you can see me drinking in the banner for this blog, and tonight I had one of the best stouts I’ve tasted yet.

It was nice to enjoy, and share, Goose Island’s Bourbon County Stout with a fellow stout lover. I’ve known Jake for a few years now, and I always look forward to spending time with him. Besides an appreciation for stouts, we have many other important things in common. Things like black coffee, Apple fandom (although he’s a pro, I’m just an amateur) and a preference for paper (as opposed to digital) books.

A good stout must be big and bold in flavor, it must feel rich and luxurious as you drink it, and it should be filling. The Bourbon County is all that and then some. Because it is aged in bourbon barrels, it has the added smoky, vanilla and caramel notes of a good bourbon. It just makes a lot of sense and it all comes together perfectly in this brew. This was my first time with the Goose Island Bourbon Stout, but I can guarantee it won’t be the last.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bourbon County Stout

  1. Mel Hogan says:

    I’m not a big fan of stouts, but after reading this description, I’ll definitely be trying this one.

  2. Emily Akins says:

    Does the degree to which your hat is turned askance indicate the alcohol by volume level? 🙂

  3. Jake Fowler says:

    Thanks again for a fun evening of superb beer and stimulating conversation; one definitely enhances the other! It was a perfect way to end a Monday! That Bourbon County Stout is my of my all time favorites. It’s a pretty unique flavor for a stout, but you gotta watch out for that 13% alcohol by volume.

Leave a Reply

