Ayinger Altbairisch Dunkel

Tonight I had the distinct pleasure of sharing a beer with one of the people I most respect, admire and love; my sister Christy. She’s always been a very important part of my life. So much so, that when the time came for me to chose a best man for my wedding, no one else but her could fit the role. We also happen to have very similar tastes in beer. I knew she would love the Belhaven Scottish Ale, one of my all time favorites. Conversation and laughter are always easy when we’re together, and the brews sure didn’t hurt either.

If you can’t remember the last time you sat down and had a beer with your sister or your brother, then it’s been too long. Way too long. I have always believed that one of the greatest gifts in life is having a sibling who is also a best friend, a sister or a brother who cheers you on at your best, loves you at your worst and perhaps even slaps you upside the head (figuratively and literally) when you need it most. I am incredibly grateful for my sister and my brother and I love them both dearly.

My beer for the night, the Ayinger Altbairisch, was a rather respectable specimen of the dunkel variety. This dark ale poured a clear reddish brown hue and blossomed throughout the evening, delivering roasty malts, dark fruit, and reasonably balanced hops. It was the perfect accompaniment for a wonderful visit with the best sister in the world. Salud.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ayinger Altbairisch Dunkel

  1. beto says:

    Dunkel’s are my favorite! I’ll have to look for the Ayinger! 🙂 Thanks for the fun blooper at the end!

Leave a Reply

