Schlafly Reserve Barleywine

The cold walk to the Flying Saucer this afternoon put me in the mood for barleywine. I’ve only had this syrupy style of ale a few times, and Schlafly’s Reserve Barleywine is one I remember quite fondly. As soon as I got a whiff of the aroma and a taste of the brew, I thought to myself “why has it been so long since I had this?”

A similar question came to mind a few minutes into the conversation Jonathan and I were having, “why have we let so much time go by?” It’s always refreshing to hang out with someone who knows so much about everything, yet never makes you feel that he knows so much about everything. It’s also good to be reminded, especially on a cold, grey day, that I’m fortunate to have great people in my life whom I can call friends. People like Jonathan.

It’s a good thing we ordered this bottle because we had a lot of catching up to do and the barleywine was just the right sustenance for the conversation. This ale is big, creamy, with notes of caramel, vanilla and full-bodied. By no means is this an everyday beer, but one for special occasions when you can sit down, forget about the time and enjoy one sip at a time. So, in a word, it was the perfect beer for a visit with a dear friend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

