Reissdorf Kölsch

Nina used to live in our building. We would see her just about every day, but then she moved to Portland. I think she missed us though, because she came all the way back just so she could have a beer with me during my birthmonth project. Okay, that last bit is a lie, she was kind of here for business. Still, it was so good to see her again. She is a fun person to drink beer with because she comes up with the most unusual and clever descriptions of what she’s tasting. Tonight was no different, she decided to talk about her beer flight as though she were describing a set of bells. That’s what makes her Nina.

I had a Kölsch tonight for the first time. This is a specialty beer brewed in Cologne (Köln), Germany. I’ve been there, actually. It is an amazing city with one the most impressive cathedrals I’ve ever seen. Its two, gigantic spires are dark, almost black and very imposing. Kölsch by contrast is bright, probably the lightest colored beer I’ve had yet. The Reissdorf was lovely, with chewy malts and nice hoppy notes.

I’m ready for spring.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

