Samuel Smith Taddy Porter

If you’ve been following my blog, then you will have undoubtedly noticed that I really, really want to be a beer connoisseur. Essentially a connoisseur is a knower, but no matter how much I think I’m learning with every style and variety of beer, I have a feeling it’ll be a very long time before I can call myself an expert. I did learn something new today, namely, how the Porter style got its name. It turns out that this style of beer earned its name because of the English train porters who were its original servers and consumers. I got that from the label of this most delectable brew, the Taddy Porter.

Mel was kind enough to humor me by patiently listening to my longwinded yet lacking explication of the world of beer: “Well, you see, essentially there are two kinds of beers: ales and lagers…one is top fermenting, the other is bottom fermenting…the yeast either floats on top or settles at the bottom during fermentation…what’s really impressive is that all beers are basically made up of four ingredients…water, malted grain (most often barley), hops and yeast…” Blah, blah, blah. Thank goodness Mel was so forgiving. That’s just the kind of guy he is, the nice kind. If you don’t have the pleasure of knowing Mel, you can read about him and his work here, here and here.

One day, when I’m a connoisseur, I will tell you all about the Taddy Porter. I will be able to ascertain what kinds of yeasts, malts and hops contribute to its perfect balance of aroma, mouthfeel and linger. I’ll pontificate about the notes of coffee, chocolate, fig and other dark fruits you’ve probably never tasted that open up to the palate as the brew comes up to room temperature.  I’ll blissfully proclaim the virtues of this ambrosial drink and call it one hell of a session beer. Won’t that be something? For now, let me just tell you I will definitely have the Taddy Porter again. And again. And I will gladly recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect beer for a cold, rainy day. Cheers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment