Tallgrass Buffalo Sweat

There’s a saying that goes something like, “do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.” I used to think it was kind of a phony thing to say, until a few years ago when I moved to my current team. Really, it’s just a group of very good friends who make really awesome stuff that makes people happy. I knew from the start of this birthmonth project that I would have to have my Sinceramente friends join me for a beer. That happened tonight, and it was awesome.

I ordered the Tallgrass Buffalo Sweat. It is a very different kind of stout, a little on the fruity side. It had the usual dark fruit and coffee notes, but then it hit me with something that reminded me a bit of Cherry Coke. Really, I found it to be as funny tasting as its name, which was appropriate since it was a night of funny people and lots of laughter.

This was my first of twenty four weeks away from work for paternal leave. It has been a wonderful week, and I know I’m going to enjoy being a stay-at-home dad. But I also know I’m gonna miss my friends at work. I’m going to miss sitting around the lunch table, talking about disgusting things that make everybody lose their appetite. I’m gonna miss the puzzles and board games over the lunch hour. I’m gonna miss seeing the clever designs and heartwarming sentiments. And I’m definitely going to miss the happy hours. Maybe I’ll just crash those anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

