Three Philosophers

Three philosophers walk into a bar. Okay, two philosophers and one big bottle of beer. Well, actually, one philosopher, a big bottle of beer, and me. The philosopher is a poet, a writer of books and movies, and a man who’s full of surprises. His name is Jim and I am quite happy to call him a friend.

We shared this bottle from Ommegang Brewery, which may just become my favorite American brewery (um, after Boulevard, of course). It was a brew worthy of note, full-bodied, complex…an outstanding member of the Moortgat family. It was good to the last drop and I only wish we could’ve had time for another. That’s what happens when you spend time with Jim – you just want to talk with him for hours.

The best thing about this month, without a doubt, has been the person sitting across the table from me every day. I am very fortunate to know so many truly good and outstanding people, and I’m grateful to be able to call them my friends. I don’t take this for granted. There is so much I’m going to miss about this month: the anticipation of meeting a friend every day, the joy of sharing a beer and the walk back home in which I rehash our conversations in my mind. I’ve got one day left, but I’m already feeling emotional about this thing coming to and end.

Maybe it’s just the beer talking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Philosophers

  1. Jim Howard says:

    Thanks for the kind words and the kind beer, and for including me among your beer-month tablemates. It was a fine, fine evening.

    Happy birthday, Sergio.

  2. Kevin says:

    So who are the Three Philosophers? Jim, I bet you’ll smack yourself.

    http://www.efficientdrinker.com/blog/who-are-the-three-philosophers/

Leave a Reply

